Last visit was: Mon May 20, 2024 5:43 pm It is currently Mon May 20, 2024 5:43 pm

All times are UTC

[ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Quake 2 Mapping 

Post Quake 2 Mapping
So pretty much I'm going to try my hand at Q2 mapping, I have some Q3 mapping experience, so I know how stubborn Quake can be. Hope to have some pics soon.

Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:41 pm Profile

Post Re: Quake 2 Mapping
OK, two problems. One, I can't get lights working. Anything besides FullVis or NoVis compilation causes an error and my screen-shots are in some weird format, .PCX

I'm using GTK Radiant 1.50. Also, is clipping my levels necessary. They seem to work fine without it. Hopefully level one will be ready soon and then I can work on co-op capability and tweaking.

Any help much appreciated,
Rodriguez

Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:26 am Profile
Admin

When it come to Quake2 mapping, I use to post my questions in this forum :
http://forums.gamedesign.net/viewforum.php?f=14

I also like the new LevelMakers forum (previously Map-Center):
http://www.levelmakers.com/community/
The Quake2 section seem empty, but there are a lot of very valuable mappers here, and even if they actually prefer Quake4 or ET:QW, they generally have a good knowledge for mapping on previous engines.

Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:00 am Profile WWW

Thanks, I own Q4 and ETQW, being a Strogg fan, but mapping for ETQW is way too hard for me and Q4 has too much things to select from, making me very confused. Plus Q2 was my first 3D video game, so I feel some loyalty ;) I'll see what I can drudge up.

Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:07 pm Profile

As promised, some pictures using EGL mod.

Barrels of fun!

EWWWW!!!!

My first box, quite proud of it :cry:

A bad prisoner, doomed to a slow death above gunfights

A florescent wall light

Finally a very cool blood trail, thanks to the EGL mod!
[ missing link ]

Thats it for now, please comment, but remember I'm new to mapping with Q2 so don't be too harsh and expect ID software quality ;)
Rodrigez