It is currently Sun Jun 16, 2019 11:42 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Possible difficulty change. 
Author Message
Champion in solo and duo and trio and quartet

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:16 pm
Posts: 328
Post Possible difficulty change.
I`ve been trying to change the difficulty for coopordie to nightmare by editing some of the cfg files. So far no success.
But I find it possible manage that. One of the CFG files MUST have been blocking the access to set skill "3". (Or maybe a dll file).

Do you guys have any idea, which of the files would be the right one?
I`ve tried config file in coopordie map, autoexec and maybe few more.

Also, if we manage to do that, what if we bring a new type of a star to coopordie for completing a campaign without dying in NIGHTMARE mode?
(Yes, I have already read topics about adding more stars to coopordie).


Sat Mar 01, 2014 9:27 pm
Profile
Champion in solo and duo and trio and quartet

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 604
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
My best bet is that each time you reload the startmap, you also reload some variables (like "skill 2"). So, trying to use "set skill 3" and reloading the startmap would result into the skill being set to 2.

_________________
Quaking like it's the '98s.

Feel free to add me on Steam.


Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:55 pm
Profile YIM
Champion in solo and duo and trio and quartet

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:16 pm
Posts: 328
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
ANDREI wrote:
My best bet is that each time you reload the startmap, you also reload some variables (like "skill 2"). So, trying to use "set skill 3" and reloading the startmap would result into the skill being set to 2.

That's, what I'm talking about. Processes like this are usually executed by a cfg or dll. I'm just saying, that there MUST be a hidden "set skill 2", which must be renamed into 3.
(autoexec.cfg and config.cfg won't work.).


Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:14 am
Profile
Champion in solo and duo and trio and quartet

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 604
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
Eh, not quite. I believe it's the worldserver the one which forces it. Though, I'm not sure wheter it is the game's .dll (which I may also edit) or the "database" part of the worldserver (which only Pat can access).

_________________
Quaking like it's the '98s.

Feel free to add me on Steam.


Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:43 pm
Profile YIM
Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2002 7:07 pm
Posts: 620
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
ANDREI wrote:
I believe it's the worldserver the one which forces it.
You're right.

Actually, the worldserver force the skill value to 2. I can change it to 3 if you want.
It can apply to regular mode or hardcore mode, or both.

What do you want ?

_________________
Enhancing one of my GameJam Ludum Dare or Kongregate entries
Playing : Clash of Clan, Clash Royale and Path of Exile


Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:08 am
Profile WWW
Champion in solo and duo and trio and quartet

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:16 pm
Posts: 328
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
Since i've tried to change the skill to 3, I want 3.


Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:47 am
Profile
Champion in solo and duo and trio and quartet

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 604
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
It would be nice if we'd have another button on the "Profile" section of Coopordie's nice, where we can choose from the "Hard" and "Nightmare" difficulties.

Edit: Is there any way to manage that part of the site (your profile's settings) in some .. customisable way? Like, having special accounts (like the "betatest" ones) whose profile pages may be customised either by their owners or, after accepting a 'request', by others. (Right now I'm thinking on some 8-player event :mrgreen:; I may try to do some stuff in the source code, but hopefully enough it's limited to it - which means I don't need to also change a part of the worldserver, that I can't touch really much -)

_________________
Quaking like it's the '98s.

Feel free to add me on Steam.


Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:48 am
Profile YIM
Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2002 7:07 pm
Posts: 620
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
ANDREI wrote:
It would be nice if we'd have another button on the "Profile" section
Damned, I was afraid of that question...

ANDREI wrote:
Is there any way to manage that part of the site (your profile's settings) in some .. customisable way? Like, having special accounts (like the "betatest" ones)
A user group, like "betatest" is a solution that can be implemented with less pain than a new profile option.

Double damned, I will have to look at that :(

_________________
Enhancing one of my GameJam Ludum Dare or Kongregate entries
Playing : Clash of Clan, Clash Royale and Path of Exile


Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:34 pm
Profile WWW
Champion in solo and duo and trio and quartet

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:30 pm
Posts: 604
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
Well, by "customisable profiles" I was wondering if we can add launch/reload parameters ourselves (basically controlling a part of the world server's CVARs as a host, in order to make it easier for us (me) to change things and even have some nice stuff going on here while keeping the 'old' / 'original' coopordie; like having events and even [game]mods - Yes, I'm still thinking at a new version of Coopordie -; I thought it would be easier for us to manage the community without having to bother you all the time about that one bug and such things).

By the way, are you planning (wanting) to make (a part of) the worldserver open-source :mrgreen: ? I don't know really much of ... I don't even know what language it is written in, but would it be difficult to do it? Perhaps we (me again) could send you patches soon with new features (maybe even improving the existent ones).

It would also be a great way for us (me) to learn the language aswell and prove you proud of us (you already know who).

Edit: Also, wouldn't having a new user group imply bothering you all the time about changing some of the CVARs?

_________________
Quaking like it's the '98s.

Feel free to add me on Steam.


Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:52 pm
Profile YIM
Champion in solo

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 10:31 am
Posts: 10
Post Re: Possible difficulty change.
Is there are way to set "skill 3"?


Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:47 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Initial forum style by Vjacheslav Trushkin.